Store Remodels and Rollouts
A multi-state retail rollout should be priced by scope tier and timed from fixtures and permits. Published 2026 contractor ranges are $15 to $35, $35 to $75, and $75 to $150 or more per square foot for cosmetic, mid-level, and premium refreshes. US-Tech synthesized those ranges for single stores. Vixxo's published field clocks are a 6 to 12 week fixture lookahead and a 30 to 90 day turnkey window by scope.
By Vixxo Facility Solutions
Last updated: October 12, 2026
|
$15 to $150+ Published 2026 refresh range per square foot, cosmetic through premium |
30 to 90 days Vixxo turnkey remodel window per site, depending on scope |
6 to 12 weeks Vixxo fixture lookahead for fabrication and freight |
Refresh ranges: US-Tech, 2026 retail refresh guide, synthesized contractor ranges for single stores. Field clocks: Vixxo published project guidance. This page does not report a Vixxo median cost per square foot by vertical.
A cosmetic retail refresh is published at $15 to $35 per square foot, a mid-level refresh at $35 to $75, and a premium refresh at $75 to $150 or more. US-Tech describes the figures as synthesized from contractor ranges. The worked example on that page is a 2,500 square foot apparel store at mid-tier: $87,500 to $187,500. Use the tiers to frame a single store. Price a multi-state program from scoped bids, because the source is not a Vixxo work-order median and it is not a 10, 50, or 200-site sample.
Table A. Cost per square foot by scope tier
| Scope tier | Published range | What the source includes | Sample |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetic refresh | $15 to $35 per sq ft | Paint, lighting replacement, limited flooring | US-Tech 2026. Synthesized. Single store. |
| Mid-level refresh | $35 to $75 per sq ft | Flooring, fixtures, branded signage, partial layout change | US-Tech 2026. Synthesized. Single store. |
| Premium refresh | $75 to $150+ per sq ft | Custom millwork, architectural lighting, higher-end finishes | US-Tech 2026. Synthesized. Single store. |
| In-line retail fit-out | $157 per sq ft national | Fuller in-line build, up 1.4% year over year | Cushman & Wakefield 2026. 15 general contractors, 15 markets. |
Hold $157 for a true in-line fit-out. Hold the $15 to $150+ bands for a refresh inside an existing store. They measure different scopes.
Top of each published US-Tech refresh band, scaled to $150 per square foot.
| Cosmetic |
|
$35 |
| Mid-level |
|
$75 |
| Premium |
|
$150+ |
Bar length is the top of the published range. It is not a median, and it is not a Vixxo project actual.
Table B. What you can cite by vertical today
| Vertical | Figure | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retail refresh | $15 to $150+ per sq ft | Three refresh tiers for a single store | US-Tech 2026 |
| Retail fit-out, by market | $120 Midwest to $217 Northern California | In-line fit-out. National average $157. Spread is $97. | Cushman & Wakefield 2026 |
| Convenience | 10 days on one stay-open site | Foodservice, bean-to-cup coffee, and finishes. Store stayed open. No cost per square foot published. | Vixxo case |
| Grocery | 159 stores, 10 weeks of field work | Seasonal reset after freight and permits were ready. 175 new SKUs per store. No cost per square foot published. | Vixxo published program |
| Restaurant | Price hood, grease, and health inspection on their own scope | Kitchen equipment sits on top of a sales-floor refresh. A Vixxo restaurant cost-per-square-foot median is not in this guide. | Scope rule. See restaurant facilities. |
Vixxo project medians by vertical, with site count and date range, belong in a later update after Project and Analytics approve them for external use.
Four drivers move a rollout off the single-store band. Refrigeration and foodservice equipment are revenue-generating, so a down case is a customer experience failure, not a finish upgrade. Signage and lighting change the front door and often add a permit. After-hours labor protects a stay-open plan and changes the labor line. Regional labor rates show up in the fit-out map: the Midwest is $120 per square foot and Northern California is $217 on the same 2026 in-line guide.
Vixxo publishes a 30 to 90 day turnkey remodel window per site, after a 6 to 12 week lookahead for fixture fabrication and freight. One stay-open convenience refresh finished in 10 days. A 159-store grocery reset finished field work in 10 weeks once freight and permits were ready. In one retail portfolio, VixxoLink Field reduced average project cycle time from 28 days to 17 days. The source page does not state how many sites sat behind that cycle time.
Table C. Timeline by program size
| Program size | Per-site field window | Pilot and lookahead | How the wave moves |
|---|---|---|---|
| About 10 sites | 30 to 90 days | Pilot one site. 6 to 12 week fixture lookahead. | Copy the inspection order that passed. |
| About 50 sites | 30 to 90 days | Same lookahead. Lock the national fixture package first. | Sequence by permit status, not store number. |
| 159 stores, published case | 10 weeks of field work | Clock starts after freight and permits are ready. | Grocery seasonal reset. Overnight waves. Same work-order type in VixxoLink so regions roll up together. |
| 200 or more sites | 30 to 90 days per site | Same 6 to 12 week lookahead. Pre-approved fixture alternates. | A Vixxo median close-out for a 200-site remodel is not in this guide. Run sites in parallel only after the pilot sequence is proven, with a separate permit clock per jurisdiction. |
Ramp rate in sites per week is not published here. Do not multiply 30 to 90 days by site count. Parallel crews change the program clock. The per-site window does not.
Table D. Per-site duration by scope
| Scope | Published duration | Source and sample |
|---|---|---|
| Stay-open convenience refresh | 10 days | Vixxo. One site. Foodservice, coffee, finishes. Zero full-closure days. |
| Turnkey remodel | 30 to 90 days | Vixxo. Typical window by scope. Includes permitting through handover when trades run on one plan. |
| Fixture fabrication and freight | 6 to 12 weeks lookahead. Standard packages cited at 4 to 6 weeks. | Vixxo rollout guidance. Lookahead sits before the field window. |
| New electrical service | 90-day buy | Vixxo. How estimators still treat new electrical service. |
| Project cycle time with VixxoLink Field | 28 days to 17 days | Vixxo. One retail portfolio. Site count not stated on the source page. |
Plan one permit clock per city or county. A Vixxo article citing FMI reports that 46% of project rollouts see permit-related delays of more than four weeks. Electrical, plumbing, health, fire, and sign inspections rarely share one appointment. This guide does not publish a median day count to permit or to inspection sign-off by jurisdiction.
Table E. Permit and inspection planning by jurisdiction type
| Jurisdiction type | Planning rule | Published figure |
|---|---|---|
| City or county authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) | Capture the packet, the reviewer, and who pulls the permit. Brand standards can match. The application does not. | Separate clock per office. Median days not published. |
| Trade inspections | List electrical, plumbing, health, fire, and sign in the order the pilot site passed. | Inspections rarely share one appointment. |
| Delay risk | File at statement-of-work lock, 8 to 12 weeks out, for new load, cooler moves, or lighted signage. | 46% of rollouts delayed more than 4 weeks. FMI, as cited by Vixxo. |
| Pilot, then the rest of the states | Close the pilot with inspection sign-off, photos, and a punch list that has an owner. | Copy forward only what passed. |
The October 9, 2026 post, How to Keep Remodel Permits and Inspections on Schedule Across Every Location, walks the five-step path from jurisdiction map to wave scale.
Carry 10 to 15% on retail refresh hard cost, and carry the 6 to 12 week fixture lookahead on the calendar before crews are booked. The 10 to 15% rule is the 2026 public reference from US-Tech for a single-store refresh. On US-Tech's 2,500 square foot mid-tier example of $87,500 to $187,500, 10% of the low end is $8,750 and 15% of the high end is $28,125.
Vixxo Verify is a separate control on the work order, and it is total spend protection: parts, labor, trip charges, and fees. Across retail portfolios in 2025, Vixxo published $2.6 million in verified savings and an 11% average reduction in invoice cost per work order. A companion post describes the $2.6 million as one 12-month managed portfolio. Keep that result on the invoice line. A Vixxo median remodel overrun, with sample size and period, is the figure that would confirm, tighten, or replace the 10 to 15% rule. It is not in this guide.
Rule for this guide: 10 to 15% on refresh hard cost, and 6 to 12 weeks of fixture lookahead before the 30 to 90 day field window. Add permit buffer where the pilot shows a review longer than four weeks.
Start with one pilot site, then a 6 to 12 week fixture lookahead, before the 30 to 90 day field window. The six steps below are the operating sequence in Vixxo's multi-state rollout guidance.
| Step | Action | Why it protects customer experience |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Pilot first | Prove scope, inspection order, and stay-open rules on one site. | The rest of the fleet copies a sequence that already kept a store usable. |
| 2. Lock fixture packages | One national package, with pre-approved alternates. | The sales floor looks like the brand in every state. |
| 3. Six to twelve week lookahead | Order fabrication and freight before the first overnight or daypart. | Crews are not standing in an open store waiting on a truck. |
| 4. Permit mapping | One clock per jurisdiction. File with the statement of work. | A failed inspection is a dark front door even when the fixture is on site. |
| 5. Site readiness checks | Confirm power, access, and dock status before delivery. | Do not book crews against an empty dock. |
| 6. Daily field verification | Photo closeout and a punch list with an owner, visible in VixxoLink. | The next site inherits a finished standard, and Vixxo Verify checks the invoice against the work. |
How to Avoid the Most Common Pitfalls in Multi-State Retail Rollouts covers the same lookahead, alternates, and daily documentation. That post does not publish cost or permit-day benchmarks.
| Plan a multi-site remodel with Vixxo |
Facility and equipment projects is the remodel service page. Industry context sits on retail, grocery, restaurant, and the industries index, which includes convenience and fuel. Pair this guide with the pitfalls post and the permits post.
Last updated October 12, 2026. Cost means published construction ranges per square foot, not a Vixxo invoice median. Timeline means the published field window plus the fixture lookahead, measured to closeout only where a source states that. US-Tech ranges are synthesized single-store contractor bands with no first-party sample size. Cushman & Wakefield's $157 national in-line rate comes from 15 general contractors across 15 markets in the 2026 U.S. Retail Fit Out Cost Guide. Vixxo figures are previously published cases and planning rules: a 10-day convenience refresh on one site, a 30 to 90 day turnkey window, a 6 to 12 week fixture lookahead, a 159-store grocery reset finished in 10 weeks of field work, VixxoLink Field cycle time of 28 days to 17 days on one retail portfolio, and Vixxo Verify savings of $2.6 million with an 11% average invoice-cost reduction per work order for retail portfolios in 2025. The 46% permit-delay figure is FMI, as cited on a Vixxo article. Program medians for 10, 50, and 200-site remodels, with percentile, site count, and period, are reserved for a later release.
Vixxo publishes a 30 to 90 day turnkey remodel window per site, depending on scope. One stay-open convenience refresh finished in 10 days. Fixture fabrication and freight need a 6 to 12 week lookahead before crews start. A 159-store grocery reset finished field work in 10 weeks after freight and permits were ready.
Published 2026 ranges for a single store are $15 to $35 per square foot for a cosmetic refresh, $35 to $75 for mid-level, and $75 to $150 or more for premium. A national in-line fit-out is $157 per square foot, from 15 contractors in 15 markets. These ranges set scope. They are not a Vixxo multi-site median.
Plan a separate clock for each city or county. Electrical, plumbing, health, fire, and sign inspections rarely share one appointment. A Vixxo article citing FMI says 46% of rollouts see permit delays of more than four weeks. File at statement-of-work lock, often 8 to 12 weeks out, prove the order on a pilot site, and copy only the sequence that passed.
Carry 10 to 15% on retail refresh hard cost. That is the 2026 public rule for a single-store refresh. Also hold a 6 to 12 week fixture lookahead on the schedule. Vixxo Verify is a different line: across retail portfolios in 2025 it produced $2.6 million in verified savings and an 11% average invoice-cost reduction per work order.
Sources: US-Tech, Retail Refresh Cost Per Square Foot in 2026; Cushman & Wakefield, 2026 U.S. Retail Fit Out Cost Guide; Vixxo, multi-state rollout pitfalls; Vixxo, remodel permits and inspections; Vixxo, 10-day c-store remodel; Vixxo, 159-store grocery reset; Vixxo, 30 to 90 day turnkey window; Vixxo, VixxoLink Field cycle time; Vixxo, Vixxo Verify 2025 savings; Vixxo, FMI permit-delay citation; Vixxo facility and equipment projects.